Tags

, , , , , ,


One aspect of moving over to the new blog, is the ability to offer more to the viewers.  As such, here is an Interview with the highly talented Heather.  Check out her etsy here: beadifulbaublesSC

When did you first start creating jewelry?

I started making jewelry on my 10th birthday, I just turned 30 so that makes 20 years. My dad knowing how much I loved crafting decided to take me to the bead store in town for my gift. I had been begging and begging for I don’t know how long, to go and he thought it would be a great surprise… The owner of the shop and I became good buds, she always gave me awesome mechanics and technique tips and fabulous discounts. Even though Renetta gave me those deep discounts, my dad would always tease me when we left the store from then on out about what TINY bag I had for just spending $100. But it kept me busy for quite a while 🙂

Where does your inspiration come from?

My inspiration comes from my materials… I look at what I have around and let it speak to me… until I see something cool in my head… a couple of years ago my dad and step-mom went on a trip up the California coast and brought me back some AMAZING hand crafted lamp work from an artisan in Cambria, CA… some of those beads I used right away, but then there were 2 bigger pendants that sat in my bead box for 2 years until I got in the perfect accent beads and saw the combination and design in my head…. sometimes I just play with things I get in until I see something cool…. or well… that at least I THINK is cool 🙂

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?

Well… I dunno really I go back and forth a lot… as you can tell, I never make the same thing twice (unless I get a request from a bride) I like the One of a Kind thing because then I don’t get bored making the same thing over and over again.. but I have recently gotten into making some steampunk items and that is really fun. I also have a ton of supplies coming in for metal working, glass fusing… enameling … etc… so yeah… call it ADD or non committal… I love it all!

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?

You know I have done this several times and I think the most striking color mono-chromatically is purple. In my humble opinion anyway… just because of all the gorgeous shades

Whats your Creating Playlist?

erm…. usually Disney in the background! HAHA… this because I am a stay at home mom/business owner… so trying to keep my 4 year old Chloe occupied and my 10 year old Alexandra from being “bored” I tend to listen to whatever they have on which is usually a Disney movie. BUT, every once in a while I plug in my ear buds and listen to a movie on netflix as I create….

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most?

oh gosh, thats such a hard one, but I think it has to be this one…www.etsy.com/transaction/48798707
partially because the stone was mined and shaped and everything by my cousin… and partially because he was doubtful I could wire wrap it and was amazed I could when he saw it finished. But, I think mostly because my step-mom loved it so much that my dad and sister decided to buy it for her for Mothers Day and she adores it.

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?

Well, I have my own website www.beadzandbloomz.com the Beadz links go out to Etsy, but the Bloomz links go out to see my portfolio for the floral side of the business. I have a blog there as well… I have tried other selling venues for a bit but none captured me as much as Etsy. Probably because the Etsy community is such a wonderful group… I have had many reach out to me during rough times and do amazing things for my family and myself that I consider them to be wonderful friends and I strive to do the same thing for others if I have the capability. Selfless, encouraging, talented people who make me happy keep me glued to Etsy.

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?

Oh this is HARD because there are SO MANY…. I have an abundant favorites list…
yarrow1.etsy.com
everywitchway.etsy.com
ravenphoenixstudio.etsy.com
steviesscratchpad.etsy.com
teenybunny.etsy.com
beadflorajewels.etsy.com
ChloeANDMaddie.etsy.com
OpheliasApothecary.etsy.com
jubilantwares.etsy.com
ginpins.etsy.com
iwunder.etsy.com
norakaren.etsy.com
there are SO many more… I could list for days…

What other hobbies do you have?

I am a floral designer by trade.. hence the beadz and bloomz but I pick up a paint brush every now and then… but otherwise, those are my vices… as I joke on a regular basis with my family I have no marketable skill in this economy whatsoever… 😀

If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?

I think the advice I would give is to be yourself…. be true to your style and what you enjoy. Only make things you would wear yourself, then you can stand behind them. Don’t let people discourage your artistic expression…. your art is worth something. Don’t let the “over saturation” of jewelry sellers get to you… find your niche and remember how many millions of people there are in the world that have necks and wrists and earlobes and fingers that need adornment. Make sure you pay yourself for your time… yeah, we all want sales, but it does nobody any good if they are undervaluing their time and aren’t making any money! Last but not least, have fun…. enjoy what you do… play with new techniques and new styles because you never know what you can make that never crossed your mind before.

This is my favorite piece in her shop.

