Tags

, , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Marcia, aka amth13. Check out her etsy here: amth13

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most?

These happen to be my favorites too, and the inspiration to a few of my own pieces, in my own way.

That’s a hard one, I think maybe my Union Jack Tatties, because I like the combination of textile and metal, and the jeans fasteners used for bead caps.

Whats your Creating Playlist?

My play list consists of lots of rock, iggy, bowie, Him(love the lyrics), Within Temptation, Muse, Panic at the Disco. I’m a Rock chick at heart.

When did you first start creating jewelry?

I started seriously making jewellery about 4 years ago, initially as a way of coping with a tough couple of years and my daughter’s autism. I’m self taught, I’ve learnt to etch, solder, wire wrap. But it’s a process where you never stop learning something new and I am addicted to it.

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?

You can find me lurking around the Timetravelersteam, my blog and facebook

Where does your inspiration come from?

Inspiration comes from an ever increasing list of sources, reading, I love the Time Traveller’s Wife, The Gargoyle- I like the idea of love that breaks through boundaries, poetry, art especially Jacob Epstein, architecture, movies- I think it’s because I’m striving to create a feeling within my jewellery.

What other hobbies do you have?

I love gardening and my previous background was in garden design. Although my garden is small, me and Fern grow herbs, potatoes, tomatoes and roses.

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?

I love both gothic and steampunk and I’m constantly looking to create that elusive combination of both.

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?

Now that’s a tough one..Bigfacejewellery (she’s my mate), fancifuldevices and sparrowsalvage I love what they can do with salvage items.

www.etsy.com/shop/WeirdTales
www.etsy.com/shop/BloodMilk
www.etsy.com/shop/Nelles
www.etsy.com/shop/TotusMel
www.etsy.com/shop/cassioppea
www.etsy.com/shop/ArtSnark

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?

My favourite colour to use is jade, I love green with a hint of blue and I’ve made a lot of treasuries already with this colour.

If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?

Go at your own pace and develop your own look. Always keep developing and don’t be afraid to try new techniques and colour combinations.

