Tags

, , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Tiffany, aka punqd. Check out her etsy here: punqd

 If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?

I’ve done this many times. I think a striking colour-scheme makes a treasury stand out. I think the best one I’ve done was emerald green. It was enchanting.

 What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?

mandarinmoon.etsy.com

Mizzdraconia.etsy.com

Melaniegail.etsy.com

 What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?

Anything that has a feeling you could point to and describe as definitely being from that genre. At the moment, I’m mostly a steampunk artist, but that’s mainly because I haven’t got the skill to make the fantasy designs I see in my mind.

 Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most

This barrette: http://www.etsy.com/transaction/47893216 It was the second item I ever sold, and I haven’t been able to make something that looked that vintage and mechanically perfect since. To me, this is Victorian steampunk.

 Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?

I’m on the Book of Faces here: http://www.facebook.com/punqd

I am also around on Things People Make where I’m adding some tutorials for people who want to make their own steampunk pieces: http://www.thingspeoplemake.com/people/punqd/

 Where does your inspiration come from?

It comes from somewhere? Fidgeting at a desk all day just causes a natural build up of creativeness that needs to be released, I figured. But my love of crafting came from my parents’ hobbies: she sews, he’s a metal worker.

 When did you first start creating jewelry?

Just before I opened my Etsy store. Previously my hobby was costuming. The problem with making a whole outfit is it takes three months to make an outfit you will only wear once. I’ve always been passionate about jewellery and I was in need of bite-sized projects, so I switched!

 Whats your Creating Playlist?

I don’t have one. The background sounds of family I guess. If I really need to focus I’ll put a 2 hour trance set on. That will drown out the sounds around the house without being distracting itself and let me work. That’s how I managed to get my degree.

 What other hobbies do you have?

Etsy is a really time-consuming hobby! A hobby I mostly took up because my job and my master’s thesis were causing me to lose my mind! In addition to that, I’m a role player. Dressing up in ridiculous, hand-made outfits for one-off weekends has been my hobby since high school. I have alot of experience in taking second-hand things and making them look like they belong in any time period, fictitious or otherwise.

 If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?

I work in big business, so I’ll give business advice here: if you want a shop to succeed, you need to be doing something different to everybody else. You need to be better, or cheaper, or faster, or friendlier, or something! Making a cookie cutter version of what someone else is won’t do anything. Be you. Think about what you do that makes you, well, you. Then sell yourself to the world.

My Favorite Piece, but.. I love almost anything with a Flutterbye on it.

