Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Tara, aka YouniquelyChic. Check out her etsy here: YouniquelyChic

NOTE: Tara is having a great sale in her shop, good until Tuesday the 29th.  Buy any one item in her shop and get one of equal or lesser value, for free!!!

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?

I would have to say that I enjoy making my industrial and steampunk jewelry the most.

The industrial pieces truly represent my inner geek in the way they represent different objects in space.

The steampunk pieces are my most challenging, assembling the components them in such a way that “works” is always an interesting process. Not to mention the never ending quest to find the clock/watch parts needed to make them, I am always combing the local thrift stores and garage sales.

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most

My all time favorite piece is Oort cloud, I love the way it all seems to orbit around the center purple octagon crystal. Also the Oort Cloud itself is a fascinating region in space

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?

 CatherinetteRings & BrindaKayDesign are some of my favorites


Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?

Deviant Art:
youniquelychic.deviantart.com/

Twitter:
twitter.com/YouniquelyChic

Facebook:
www.facebook.com/YouniquelyChic


Whats your Creating Playlist?

I don’t usually work to music but I almost always have a movie or tv series I am watching playing on my laptop which is ALWAYS in front of me when I am working!


Where does your inspiration come from?

I grew up watching shows like Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica (the original) and Star Wars and as a result I have always been somewhat of a techno geek and anything to do with space exploration has always fascinated me. I love to read about new advances and if I had done my life differently I would have been an astronaut!


If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?

Iridescent purple


When did you first start creating jewelry?

In 2008 I started making simple crystal designs as gifts for friends and family… at a family reunion my cousin convinced me to try selling my creations on Ebay. Long story short Ebay was a disaster because I was spending more on listing fees that I was making in sales and then I discovered Etsy and it has been downhill since then.


What other hobbies do you have?

Well I spend 90% of my time working on my jewelry but I enjoy reading, watching movies and playing with my 3 puppies.


If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?

Be seen! If you choose to make jewelry and try to sell it to others you have to have a presence, if people don’t see your creations they cannot buy them. Also stay true to your vision… it is very easy to see what is “popular” and try to create designs that would be considered fashionable. I almost fell into that trap, but I’ve stayed true to myself. I always say that I will not making anything that I would not wear myself.

This is my favorite piece. The vintage, fantasy and some how scifi feel, is amazing.
