Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Dayle, aka Antickquities. Check out her etsy here: Antickquities

What other hobbies do you have?
I am a typical gaming and anime nerd. I love playing tabletop RPGs, watching anime, reading manga, writing fanfiction; but most of all I love cosplaying and general costuming! I attend a LOT of conventions!

Whats your Creating Playlist?
It depends on my mood really. However, more often than not I find myself working more industriously when listening to my Steampunk playlist which includes a lot of Voltaire, the new Sherlock Holmes soundtrack, and music from Hayao Miyazaki’s movies.

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?
I would choose orange! I love how bright and vivid a color it is and I think it would be fun to see how many non-autumnal items I could discover!

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most?
Hmm, I would have to say my porcelain tea cup hat. As impractical as it seems, it is my absolute favorite thing to wear when I feel like being really girly.

Dayle's Favorite Piece

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?
Steampunk / Victoriana. I’ve always had an odd love for Victorian clothing and mechanical bits and pieces, so it was only a natural thing to come to love Steampunk style!

Where does your inspiration come from?
My friends, mostly. We all have the most eclectic minds and can often find uses for the most mundane things, like clock hands and swim goggles. Our motto is: “This is going straight on my head!”

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?
As in genre? I love shops that sell anime swag, kanzashi, unusual jewelry, and scented candles. My current loves for each are
Anime swag: Naniwear www.etsy.com/shop/naniwear
Kanzashi: MountainMusings www.etsy.com/shop/MountainMusings
Unusual Jewelry: Spirys www.etsy.com/shop/Spirys
Scented candles: Candlelynn www.etsy.com/shop/candlelynn

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?
I also have a facebook page for Antickquities:www.facebook.com/pages/Antickquities-Steampunk-Accessories/145691218781390
And my Deviantart where I post new Antickquities items, experimental items, and my own creative ventures such as my fanfiction and cosplay photos.www.pervyyaoifancier.deviantart.com

When did you first start creating jewelry?
I’ve been messing with making jewelry as long as I can remember. My mom always had lots of beads for me to make gifts with, but I only got seriously into it within the last 3 years.

If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?
I would advise that they look into taking basic classes if they are truly interested. Most bead and craft stores offer free workshops. Learning simple tricks right off the bat will save a lot of time and money. It took me almost a year to figure out that one should twist open a jump ring rather than pulling it open to help retain shape and strength. And don’t be afraid to experiment! You never know what would make a great accent piece to anything you make!

I love this piece, its super cute.


