Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Samantha, aka SalvageGypsy. Check out her etsy here: SalvageGypsy

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most?
Oh Boy! That’s a difficult one… When I make my pieces I always create them thinking “Would I wear this”? I become attached to every piece I make and always have a hard time parting. So, I always end up loving all of them.

Whats your Creating Playlist?
Music, music I Love so many different types of music! I don’t per say have a playlist, I just listen to wherever my mood takes me. I sometimes set up my Vintage record player and listen to old Billie Holiday and Louis Armstrong vinyl’s. Or I love getting lost in Frou Frou and my new favorite, The Civil Wars.

When did you first start creating jewelry?
So… I first started creating jewelry 13 years ago. I was 22 and haven’t stop since.

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?
Well, other than Etsy I am selling my jewelry in 2 stores where I am living at the moment. One of them is The Blue Dahlia Marketplace in Clearwater, Florida and the other ArtPool Gallery in Downtown St. Pete Florida.

Where does your inspiration come from?
My inspiration comes from the beauty around me. The dark colors of the rippling river, the moss on the trees and ground, the rust that forms on metal. The earth is a beautiful place, it offers us such an endless palette of color and texture.

What other hobbies do you have?
I am a picker! I love vintage and antiques, its addicting going to places and digging thru all those things, wondering where it was at one time, who had it, who touched it. I also, love to travel to new, fun and exciting places, and finding great new places to eat.

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?
Trying to pick one style or genre is so difficult. There are so many great styles out there! If I picked one, it would have to be steam punk. It has such a great industrial, shabby, victorian style. All of which I LOVE.

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?
Wow, there really are so many great, great, great shops on Etsy! Ok so, here a few of my favorites… BlackElkKnives This is my fathers site and I look up to him, he is a very talented man. I have learned alot from him. timssally This is another she just has incredible artwork! gabriel I have numerous pieces from Gabriel, she makes amazing clay pendants. Love these little birdy and house pendants elukka

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?
I would use Peacock 🙂

If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?
Always create with your heart, and never be opposed to new ideas.

This is... Just beautiful. I really wish I could have it as my own. My favorite piece of hers.

