Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Cait, aka CaitAmberDesigns. Check out her etsy here: CaitAmberDesigns

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?
I’ve sold more of my steampunk pieces, but I think I personally enjoy wire wrap/weaving the most. No sticky glue! I tend to get into a bit of a trance when I’m weaving and wrapping wire, and although my designs sometimes get away from me, I absolutely love it!


Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most
My Moonstone Key Pendant, which sold for $315 for the Desert Bus for Hope Charity that supports Childs Play! It felt awesome to donate a piece that fetched much more money than I could have ever hoped to have donated myself.

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?
I love AliveGems, MelissaCaronJeweller, lagoadesigns, drakonaria, and orangetree. They`re my daily dose of crafting jealous/heaven!

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?
Although I only sell online through Etsy, I post artwork and jewelry that is not for sale at Deviantart and am a regular tweeter. I also have a FaceBook page

Whats your Creating Playlist?
My playlist is a combination of opera, rock, soundtracks and truly shameful pop music… pretty much anything! I find I often create art with youtube channels going in the background more than anything. I love smosh, tobuscus, epicmealtime, jake and amir… not necissarily ‘girly’ channels, but they make me happy and thats when I make my best stuff!

Where does your inspiration come from?
I find I tend to get inspired more by the stones/focal pieces that I work with than anything else. Give me a neverending supply of moonstone and labradorite and I’ll make jewelry for you forever! I’m also very inspired by other jewellery pieces that I see, either on Etsy or just strangers on the street! I love trying to recreate non-wire shapes and effects using wire.
I also love a great deal of nerdy things, and love trying to work nerdy references into my jewelry. D20 pendants are always popular! My current goal is to be able to make a hinge locket with wire so I can make my own TARDIS pendant.

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?
Purple all the way! I LOOOOVE purple!

When did you first start creating jewelry?
I started making jewellery in September 2010. Looking back on those pieces is thoroughly embarassing but I’m sure I’ll look back on what I’m making now in 2 years and say much the same thing! I’ve been an artist for years, though.

What other hobbies do you have?
I love drawing and painting, and playing video games. I try to blog from time to time, but I find I don’t have the patience for it.

If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?
Watch artists who you admire, start with inexpensive supplies, and don’t forget how useful the internet can be! There’s NO end to tutorials. I even have a couple on my deviantart page!

Loooove this piece. It was a tough choice, but this one won out.

