Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Barry, aka 54CopperSquare. Check out his etsy here: 54CopperSquare

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?

As a young boy we had a seemly endless forest in back of our house. There you would find me 90% of the time roaming through the woods catching frogs and turtles. I’ve always loved the timeless serenity of the forest.

I find it a place of peace and tranquility. It reflects in where I live on a mountaintop. I live here with my wife and two dogs. Tall tree’s and nature surround our home. We are located in beautiful Harper’s Ferry WV. It is also apparent in my jewelry designs.

When it comes to jewelry, the two styles that inspire me the most are nature jewelry and being a very nostalgic personality. I love Steampunk.

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?

I love the color purple with hint of blue tint.

Whats your Creating Playlist?

I really have no play list. I am a very visual person I may get an inspiration at any time day or night. I then make a conscious effort to put my idea into a design, be it woodworking or jewelry.

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most

That’s a hard one. I have several favorites.
Guess it would have to be one that was sold last year.
It was called (Ivy Rose Quartz Copper Pendant).

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?

I have been in various places including Artfire for a few years where I made some sales. I decided with my busy schedule to just stick with and concentrate on Etsy for now.

Where does your inspiration come from?

Anything that is nostalgic, mystical, natural, musical or artful will influence me.

When did you first start creating jewelry?

I setup my Etsy Site in 2006 but, I really didn’t make my first piece until around 2009.

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?

I try not to watch or view other jewelry shops too much. I don’t want to be influenced by someone else’s designs or ideas. I like to know anything I do comes by way of being honest and completely original or from the heart. I feel there are far too many people out their stealing other artist’s designs while taking the credit and of course making a profit.

What other hobbies do you have?

I love music I was in several local Rock and Roll Bands when I was younger so obviously music is a huge part of my life. I feel music and art compliment each other nicely.

I love to work in Wood. In fact I have recently started another Etsy site called Dusky Barrels.

I feel it gives new life to old wine barrels by making décor that will live on in someone’s home bar or lounge area. This spring I’ll be adding many more products to my site.

If you could offer advice to others looking to make jewelry, what would it be?

First and foremost keep it original! Develop your own style and people will come. At first your pieces may not look the way you had envisioned. In time you will perfect your style. Be patient and persist nothing great ever happens over night…

It was hard to pick just one piece as my favorite, but this one really stuck out to me. Also, I love green.

