Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Next up, we have an interview with the amazingly talented Catriana, aka Deep Midnight Perfumes. Check out her etsy here: Deep Midnight Perfumes

Out of everything you’ve created, what one scent do you love the most?

I think it would have to be Samhain Night. It was one of the first scents I created and still one I go back to over and over again.

SAMHAIN NIGHT

Whats your Creating Playlist?

I like to listen to classical music and celtic music when I am working, but sometimes I just sing when I work 🙂

PENDRAGON

When did you first start inventing scents?

I first made my own perfume in 1996 just for myself. In November 2010, I started selling my perfumes on etsy.

THE TEMPLE of TIME

Besides Etsy, can we find you any place else?

My new website should be debuting in the next couple of months. I also sell at several local stores, but etsy is currently the only internet site. I have also booked several weddings doing perfume favors. Two were Victorian themed and one was Gothic/Neo Victorian. Being able to see the clothes and set ups for the ceremony was wonderful. I love seeing gorgeous and creative weddings so I have fun consulting on that.   [Her FaceBook]

TEA WITH A DRAGON

Where does your inspiration come from?

One of my BA degrees is in History so I am inspired by a variety of historical eras, people and characters – both historical and imaginary, places of old, literature, and theater.

SECRET JOURNAL

What other hobbies do you have?

To give a list of my hobbies would fill the page! I love knitting, weaving, writing poetry, reading, pottery, camping, hiking, travel, Tai Chi, Pilates, music of all sorts, cooking, museums, spiritual study, agate hunting, jewelry making, wood burning, and the list could go on and on. Let’s just say I love to learn new things and always keep very busy.

BELLA DONNA KISS

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?

I can’t say I have a genre I like most because so many things inspire and fascinate me in the world. I have so much enthusiasm and joy when I create any scent that it would be very hard for me to pick a genre right now. I just love what I do all the time and my creativity is fueled by that love and joy.

SLEEPY HOLLOW

What shops on Etsy do you enjoy watching the most?

I think etsy is am amazing artisan marketplace. I love jewelry shops of all types, natural mineral makeup and natural bath products, paper creations, and period style clothing. It’s easy to get lost in the gorgeous shops people have!

AVALON MYST

If you could put together a treasury and use only one color, what would you use?

I think I would have to say red! I love red, green, purple, grey, and black, but red always pops out to my personal eye when I am looking at treasuries and shop products.

BOURBON STREET - This is one of my ALL TIME favorite scents. I just adore it.

If you could offer advice to others looking to becoming perfumers, what would it be?

This could be a small dissertation really, but I will keep it to these main points 🙂
Learn and study about top, middle, and bottom notes and accords. Don’t be afraid to try different and unique combinations and experiment. Pay attention to the dry down and longevity of the scents you create. Test it on several people. Always use a carrier oil and make sure it is of the highest quality. Love what you do!

TIME MACHINE - Had to pick two, because this is a scent I tend to wear a lot.

 

Deep Midnight is also offering a bottle of her wonderful perfume, as a prize in the Mini Challenge this month.

