Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Today we have a Part 2 of short series of interviews with Rachel Mace of Totally Trashed Fashion.

Is there any one element about your designs, that makes you different from everyone else?
I think that the most obvious thing about my work is also the most different. Each piece is hand-crafted from alternative materials, paper, plastic, ect, instead of using fabric. I plan on actually learning to sew sometime in the coming months. I think I’m the only designer I know who doesn’t have any real clue of how to use a needle and thread.

What other hobbies do you have?
I have a lot of hobbies! I think the hobby which really influenced my beginnings as a designer is modeling, which I have done for several years now. I’m also an avid dancer, a lover of books and writing, and a fan of the outdoors. I also love medicine. My goal is to someday leave the fashion industry and work in pediatrics as a doctor.

If you could put together a listof your favorite things, what color would you use as the base?
That is a tough one. For my personal color pallet, I love jewel tone blues and purples, crimson red, gold, and black. For my designs, though, I try to get a feeling for the model and use the colors which I feel best compliments both their looks and their personality.

Do you have any plans for your next line?
My next line is probably going to be my biggest undertaking yet. As I mentioned earlier, the inspiration comes from a young woman who is, unfortunately, no longer in my life but always in my heart. She suffered from a serious eating disorder, but due to the nature of the beast, we had immense trouble trying to get her into any sort of medical treatment, for both the physical and mental aspects of the disorder. The line will be of six or seven dresses depicting the beauty which I constantly saw in her, and upon the completion of the line, I will be selling the pieces to donate money eating disorder treatment and research in the Spokane area.

What’s the difference between working on a line in general, and working on one for a show?
There is not a big difference between designing a line and designing for a show for me, because I just create with the idea of a show in my head. Ideally, everything I make will strut down the runway. The hardest part about this is making sure that the pieces are wrong enough to hold up to the high-stress of a runway show, as well as shoots before or after. It pushes me to make sure the dresses are relatively easy to get in and out of, and that everything can be packed and unpacked with relative speed.

Is it different being behind the scenes as the desiner, as opposed to being the model?
I would say that the biggest difference between modeling at a show and designing at a show is that models are like the cast of a show, and designers are like the crew. As a model, you usually just worry about yourself, and maybe your co-models from the same designer, but all of your look is already set up for you. As the designer, you have to worry about every girl in your line, and the people who are also around you. I often help other designers with wardrobe malfunctions, teach runway, and organize other aspects of the show. I have to be in contact with hair, make-up, videographers, ect, get the pieces to the show, set up my own area, and keep my girls organized. At Sugar, I organized the models and taught runway while others worked, because the runway was a very difficult one. I think I walked 80 or 90 girls through!

What inspired your line for the Portland Sugar Art and Fashion Show?
My inspiration for the Portland show came from paper. It sounds like a broad spectrum, and it kind of was, it was a learning experience. I played with magazine pages, tissue paper, book pages, butcher paper, wrapping paper… I wanted this line to be about colors and textures, as I learn and refine my building process.

Were there reasons behind your model choices for this fashion show?
I picked my girls very carefully, based on experience, references, and personality. They are all strong, independent women with massive amounts of dedication and sass. They were reliable, made all their fittings, and proved that they could be careful and effective with their modeling. I picked girls who inspired my artistic side, who I found beautiful and personable. I could not be more proud of how well they performed. 🙂

If you could offer advice to others looking to design, what would it be?
Stay true to your ideas, and don’t let anyone tell you you’re too outlandish! There were definitely people who were puzzled and doubting of my work being made from trash, but now, many of those people are my biggest supporters. 🙂

Bonus Images!!!

