Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


This week we have an interview with the AMAZING Ronnie Ryno, aka Glamarita.  Because she’s so stinking special, I want to share a few things about her, and myself.

Ronnie is one of the three people, who has worked hard [often, without knowing it] to encourage me and help me to be more then what I say, or think, I am.  At this point in time, she is the ONLY person I trust to sell my jewelry.  She has unknowingly, dragged me into this work of Fashion and Design, kicking and screaming, and I am grateful to her for it.

But, enough of me blabbering about her, how about we let Ronnie speak for herself.

What style/genre do you enjoy creating the most?
I am especially inspired by print/pattern and texture. I love to combine unusual fabrics together to create something new and avant garde.

Whats your Creating Playlist?
Truthfully, I rarely listen to music while I’m working. I tend to put on movies or some mind-numbing reality show. I need noise in the background but nothing TOO interesting to pull focus away from my current project. 80’s movies are especially good for this since I’ve seen them a million times.

When did you first start creating/designing?
About 5 years ago I started to teach myself to sew by pulling apart clothes out of my own closet. I remade them to create more modern or interesting pieces. Since then I started scavenging thrift shops looking for striking vintage materials and interesting prints that can be upcycled.

What do you look for in a model, for your designs?
I like to work with models of all types. My clothes always look better on girls with a quirky look or women who let their personalities shine through. I don’t subscribe to that concept that the model is a “blank canvas”….when a potential client sees photos of my dresses, they need to be able to put themselves in the models’ shoes and envision themselves wearing that dress. It’s much easier to do that when the model shows her personality!

What other designers do you enjoy watching?
I intentionally avoid looking at the work of “big name” designers because I don’t want to be influenced by their work. Locally, I love what people are doing with recycled fabrics and non-traditional materials. I love what Rachel Mace of Totally Trashed Fashion is doing, Gianna Morrill of Kuriio, Kadra Evans of Assassin Apparel, Mary Tafuri of Tafurious and of course Kristy Carey 🙂

Where can we find you? [please provide links/address]
Glamarita and Etsy

Out of everything you’ve created, what one piece do you love the most? 
Of course I’m most known for the necktie creations that I do, but some of my favorites are done with layering and mixing of other fabrics. Here are a couple favorites.

Where does your inspiration come from?
Usually the materials themselves dictate the direction a design will go. I may know whether I’m going for formal vs casual or dramatic rather that cute, but the actual garment takes shape based on the fabrics and trims.

Is there any one element about your designs, that makes you different from everyone else?
I tend to go over-the-top and combine LOTS of design elements into one piece. Most people will stick with one or two, but I love them all! Ruffles, fringe and ruching all in one piece? That’s so me. 🙂

What other hobbies do you have?
I used to have so many other interests but for now, other than spending time with my family, Glamarita is my only focus. One day I’d love to get back to reading, actually watching movies and having lazy days by the pool.

If you could put together a listof your favorite things, what color would you use as the base?
I love jewel tones and really intense colors, although I tend to wear basic black and grey in my own wardrobe. Purple is my current obsession.

If you could offer advice to others looking to design, what would it be?
Practice, practice and more practice. Don’t be afraid to make something truly awful. The more you risk, the more potential there is for something great to emerge out of it. My best creations started out as my biggest mistakes. If you look at it and think it’s hideous, with some reworking, you might have a hit on your hands.

While I might not have any reason to wear this, I love the colors it offers. Might be why I'm getting my halter top in Blue.

